What is that smell? Oh that – that is the smell of CLEAN!

Well it certainly amazed me but as I said the other day in my week 3 and 4 update “it is time to get my clean on” and that is exactly what I did today! Ok so I only did one room but boy is it DONE! Short of shampooing the carpet (which I intend to do next week) I don’t think there is much else I can clean in our lounge. All of the furniture was moved and vacuumed under and the skirting boards wiped , the book cases were de-cluttered and polished, the light shades are shiny white and I cleaned the photos framed on the walls as well as the ones on the mantle piece. The windows have been cleaned so that, even though you can’t see them very well behind our ugly lace curtains, I know they are sparkling and the mirror over the fire-place has also been polished (except the love note Action Man wrote on it before he left). We even had a massive broken toy purge! There were plenty of complaints but I just told myself firmly to be quiet and get on with it.

Now this is not really in keeping with the teachings of FlyLady but I figure if the motivation is there I should make the most of it and I must say I am pleased with the results. This is a novelty as I am usually disappointed with the amount that I manage to get through. My children, who, from now on, will be referred to as Sunshine (or Sunny) and Danger, are very distracting and quite capable of making mess as fast as I can remove it. Today however while not exactly helpful they were not really a hindrance either.

My lanterns are not forgotten (maybe I will have a bit of a play tonight with some colour mixing) but I actually had so much fun today that I think tomorrow… the kitchen.
Look out plastics cupboard, I am coming for you!

Leave a Reply

